Convocation and Alumni

Home > About us > Convocation and Alumni

The UMP Convocation was established on 4 August 2018 according to the Constitution of the Convocation and the Statute of UMP. The Convocation members were welcome by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Thoko Mayekiso and in her remarks she defined Convocation as “a group of people formally assembled for a specific purpose-mostly ecclesiastical or academic”.

The functions of the Convocation are to:
  • facilitate liaison between the University and its former students and its former students and academic employees;
  • create networks and canvass support for the strategic objectives of the University; and
  • organise former students and academic staff members of the University with a view to facilitating representation of this constituency on appropriate governance structures.               

Members of the Executive Committee of Convocation

  • Mr Muzi Khoza
  • President

  • Mr Convocation Vacant
  • Deputy President

  • Ms Carol Cathuzile Mhlongo
  • Secretary

  • Mr Mxolisi Nkosi
  • Council Representative

  • Mr Godfrey Thwala
  • Additional Member

  • Mr Veli Mashaba
  • Additional Member

Limpopo Alumni Chapter Committee
Chairperson      Ms Rejoyce Modipa  
Secretary            Ms Nokulunga Radebe 
Treasurer Mr Zolani Ngcele
Additional Member             Ms Mahlatse Mosehla
Gauteng Alumni Chapter Committee
Chairperson                    Mr Boifang Mokhine    
Secretary                          Mr Floyd  Monama 
Treasurer                         Ms Keba Mashaba  
Additional member Mr Kgotso Motla

  Click to open gallery