School of Agricultural Sciences

Welcome message from the Head of School


Prof Funso Kutu
The School of Agricultural Sciences (SAS) represents the largest School in the Faculty of Agriculture and Natural Sciences. It currently offers 10 of the twenty-six programmes available at the University. Our offerings provide diverse training opportunities that include Diploma programmes in Plant or Animal Production, and Advanced Diploma programme in Agricultural Extension, Agricultural Production Management or Postharvest Technology. We also offer two different Bachelor degrees in Agriculture, a Bachelor of Agriculture Honour degree, and two Master degree qualifications. Our Bachelor and Master degree programmes offer students opportunities to explore new things in relevant fields thus promoting inter- and trans-disciplinary research. Plans are underway to increase the School’s footprints in other relevant disciplines within the field of Agriculture based on the needs of the industry and society in order to promote access to higher education and knowledge, and job opportunities amongst South African youths.

The School seeks to contribute meaningfully towards transforming South Africa’s agricultural sector through the training and development of highly skilled, competent and inspired professionals and technicians to drive and provide support for effective implementation of national agricultural programmes and projects. The focus of our research activities include promoting increase and sustainable productivity, enhance youth and women participation in agriculture, food security and safety, and sustainable use and conservation of natural resources.

The UMP vision, mission and values underpinned our teaching and learning goal and outcomes. We provide our students with a range of supports including access to technology-based resources, fascinating school and industry experiences for basic academic and discipline-specific knowledge and skills to guarantee success.


Click to explore.


Click to open gallery

Contact Us

  • Prof FR Kutu
  • Head of Schools: Agricultural Sciences

    Tel:  (013) 002 0218
  • Dr J Ndoro
  • Program Leader for Bachelor of Agriculture in Agricultural Extension and Rural Resource Management

    Tel:  (013) 002 0166
  • Mr J Seema
  • Programme leader
    Diploma in Agriculture in Plant Production

    Tel:  (013) 002 0176
  • Dr RH Khwidzhili
  • Programme Leader: Advanced Diploma in Agriculture in Agricultural Extension

    Tel:  (013) 002 0144